top of page
  • Writer's pictureCarly K

MY THOUGHTS ON THE METAMORPHOSIS



Happy New Year Everyone!! Welcome to my first review of the new decade, and my third in the short story series! Today I’ll be reviewing “The Metamorphosis” by Franz Kafka.


Franz Kafka was a Jewish author who was born in Bohemia, Prague (what is currently the Czech Republic). The Metamorphosis is a short novel about a traveling salesman named Gregor Samsa who one day transforms into a giant insect.



Prior to reading The Metamorphosis, I was almost expecting a light hearted story about a man’s transformation into a butterfly, as the imagery of a giant butterfly seemed nonsensical, almost comedic in my mind. However, after reading this Kafka novel, I’ve stepped quite far away from my initial innocent happy assumption, and I’m feeling both melancholy and disturbed.


After Gregor Samsa wakes up to realize his transformation as an insect, his family is in shock and disbelief. His mother and father refuse to acknowledge his existence, and are too disgusted to catch sight of him. Although his sister was willing to lay food out for Gregor, she too was scared of looking at him or touching him. In an instant, what once was a harmonious family had completely alienated one of their members. I think that the disgust Gregor’s family members display to him perhaps reflects human nature to alienate “the other”. Gregor, with his insect body, has become a grotesque “other” in the eyes of his family members, and his family thus responds by immediately cutting ties and distancing themselves from him. In my opinion, scenes in The Metamorphosis draw a parallel to modern day society, where it seems many are focused on physical appearances. Billboards, instagram advertisements, and mainstream media are also consumed like fast food, and it’s hard not to get caught up in the glamour of perfect looks and outward appearances. Because of his physical transformation, Gregor is viewed as a disgusting creature by his family, even though his internal thoughts and personality have remained the same.


What struck a chord with me the most was how easily Gregor’s family ignored their past relationships with Gregor. From my perspective and culture, there is nothing stronger than familial bonds of love, and to read about the rapid estrangement of Gregor was a nerve-racking experience for me. But perhaps, this opinion is because I have been fortunate enough to grow up in a loving family. There are likely thousands of people in the world who are detached from their families, viewed as insignificant, or completely alienated.


Thus, as a whole, reading The Metamorphosis has made me feel more grateful for the caring family that I have. Although a rather grim tale, I think that it is a must-read to add to anyone’s book list for 2020!

151 views0 comments
bottom of page